Paradise…

Looking over my blog as I do on occasion, I realized that September is now nearly over…where does the time go? 

One of my promises to self was to complete at least one entry to this blog every month; and while I’d like to write daily, time escapes me on a more unreasonable level each day, if not passing moment of the day. Procrastination, life endurances, challenges and what have you~ abound. September has been an exceptional month for all the above…

I have only myself to blame [tongue and cheek], as there is no blame in the sense of remorse. The decisions I set in motion in July would catalyze me to action, and possibly astound friends, family and anyone else who was acquainted with me. I know and heard ~ Is she mad, is she crazy, and at one point someone asked, ‘Should I be worried?’ My resounding argument and wishful thinking was to be left alone with the design and plan…those who understood, regarded it as ‘you’re making a statement, you’re Boldly Going…

Of course, I’m speaking of making the move…no longer talking about it, wishing for it to just happen, or the least possible irony of finding a Genie in a bottle on some forgotten beach that would catapault me to this place I now find myself in. Paradise… 

Each and every day I make a trek to somewhere, simply to learn the area, or mark a check on the list of ‘things to do’ as I ready for my new job, acclimate myself with the new area…and I’m amazed. Friends and family members have taken time to give me tours of the area, and complete with history and fond memories they have of their own in regard to Paradise, and their reflections are most prominent in my mind as I attempt to re-travel in my own trek about Pasadena and surrounding areas. I’ve made many a trip in my life-time to California…never once attempted to drive myself around in the traffic and why? No clue…it is as simple as anywhere else I’ve been to in my lifetime and now it is home…

And slowly I find new routes to routine places; and begin to venture beyond the neighborhood where I live and while excercising my trusting dog…as he sniffs out his own agenda each morning and evening; I take in the beauty, the mystique and sense my own agenda for this ‘willful and bold change in my life…’ I still can’t believe it and my dog’s playful tug on the leash is my only reminder [the proverbial pinch I request from time to time]…I’m not dreaming about it, anymore…

What I learned of self in 2011 and the awakening of ‘what have I done with my life?’ set this in motion, although, it had always been there, always coming about in times of stress and checks and balances throughout my life, and more inspiring with each visit to this coast…

The lesson I hope to pass to my son, his wife, and my grand-child. Know yourself, first, and follow your dreams…don’t settle, and certainly don’t allow those who know you least to wager they know what is ‘best for you’ when you, yourself know ‘better’…If you learn that sooner than later…your life will be filled with joy and with no regrets…

And, to my ex…I can only say, Thank you…

Leave a Reply

