Q & A (Me Thinking, Again)

Me just being random, but great insight especially if you think you REALLY know me and what I’m all about…you probably don’t…

Is there ever a reason to get blinding drunk?

No, but it can happen and usually emotions are at play more than observance of any intellect in the ordering of alcohol. But as for reason or rationality~ there is none. The impact of alcohol on the body and eventually the mind is reason enough never to go the limit. I haven’t since age 25 and have no intention to ever begin again. I’m a social drinker, and mostly to lighten the mood, and inhibit myself a bit in the moment. Like I need the help, anyway.

Do you believe in love at first sight?

Not really. I think love persists in us as beings. Largely due to upbringing, possibly what we read, and we deem as romantic. I’ve felt tugs here and there but no one has ever hit me like a ton of bricks, made my eyes bug out at first sight. Oh yeah, some guys are so exceptional that you ogle, seem mesmerized and made my heart go pitter-pat, even felt trembly and faint, but then in a fleeting moment like a ship possibly sailing over a horizon they are gone and one is left bewildered. That sorta sounds poetic enough to give justice to believing in ‘love at first sight’, but nah, I think it is simply ruminating on the reality sense that love is something that grows and stays…or doesn’t.

What’s more important – self preservation or forgiveness?

Self preservation. Forgiveness is what you do or say to heal yourself of the bigotry, the hurt or the alienation you sense from the other. But protecting oneself is much more important than that impact of the other person accepting the forgiving nature of yourself. Case in point, I’ve been hurt recently by a friend and her biggest squeal was I misunderstood, and clearly I didn’t, but the more I told her I forgave her but would never forget the incident…the more she insulted, lied to others, and berated me. Eventually, I just had to say ‘you’re forgiven do what ye will with that information and move on’. Self preservation…

Hearing, Sight, Taste, Touch, and Smell. The five senses. Which would be the worst one for you to lose, and why?

Sight would be the worst for me to lose. I don’t think I’ve managed to see all the beauty in the world. Although, if I did lose sight, my imagination of course would be enough intact that I could at least imagine but not clarify the reality of what I was missing. None of the senses are something any of us wish to lose, but certainly not sight.

If you could change one moment in your past, what would it be?

None of it, as the past is either there to remind me of errors or pleasures. Removing one iota would upset the challenges I face today or tomorrow. At my age beginning the learning process over without my extensive manual would be overwhelming. I accept all the errors, but embrace the pleasures I’ve learned along the way, too; and they have each benefited or complimented one another along the way, as well.

What socially acceptable practice do you disapprove of?

Very few, but bigotry of anyone or anything because you simply don’t understand it or have never attempted to understand something~ totally makes me wonder where you stand in regard to me as an individual. Bigotry to me is accepted by the silence that it induces in our culture(s) those who won’t stand up and say, diversity is accepted here. Without getting into all the standards~ I’m talking about all the standards that we as a global species inflict on one another. There is no standard really, when you consider the infinite possibilities of our DNA alone.

How do you handle confrontations?

Listening, recanting, and explaining my own motives if I’m directly at fault or being accused of fault. Then I try to find a common ground of understanding. If that doesn’t work, then I forgive, forget it (unless it is a personal issue, something I have no control over and irrational) and I always move on.

What would your life be, if it were a movie? Comedy, horror, drama, sci-fi? And who would play you?

A dramatic comedy I’m sure. Some of my life has been a rousing roller coaster of events, and especially lately. With what could have been horrible, but interestingly enough and deliberate on my part smooth sailing with a bit of sadness and mirth mixed. So far I’ve been lucky in life and I really have no idea why, because according to most I meet my ideals aren’t the ideals of my compatriots and I don’t practice religious rites, or hang on to political loyalties…I just exist. Maybe that’s the key. I don’t know, I try to live life the way I see my dog doing so…except I work more than the little Beagle does. Who would play me? Hmmmm…Lyndsay Lohan, maybe. LOL

What is good and what is evil?

Good? Evil? Two subjects that comprise our religious squelae in this culture and again label or usurp bigotrous ideas. I don’t have a definitive response, and maybe because I’ve never met a truly Good person or a truly Evil person…I don’t know.

If you could invent a holiday, what would it be? What special traditions would take place on that year?

Friends Day and although I think it should be monthly or every day. It is just a holiday to take the time to really tell those who you consider or think of as Friends why it is so. Nothing special, a note, a small token of appreciation for their attention and knowledge of you. We attempt this on Social Networks, but it begs for something more special.

The world will end tomorrow. What do you do today?

Nothing different except make sure I say goodbye to all I love and if most of them are correct and I certainly don’t know or believe it~ I’ll see them on the other side from whatever direction I’ve earned; looking up or looking down. But, I would do nothing special other than that.

How do you view commitment?

I used to believe it was important, but not really. I’ve never really known it perhaps. Commitment to me means going the extra mile, respecting each others ideals, spending time together but without smothering or taking away one another’s individuality. I was apparently wrong…I just worry now about commitments I can manage~ to myself, friends, my son, my son’s family, and my career. Those I understand.

Would you choose to live forever if you had the choice?

It is totally impossible to live forever…only our legacy or what we leave perpetrates the notion we live on. Through our children, and their children. DNA…that is intensively what I leave or my ideals and whatever I taught my child. My memory or his memory of what I was, stood for and thought about. But the body I have now is destined to die, it begins at birth and it is called aging, but we all know it is really death. What lives on is ‘how we lived life’…

What is your weapon of choice?

My wit and if that fails ‘sarcasm’. I wear my heart on my sleeve and so my only recourse is a quick wit and a haughty “I could care less…”

Money, fame, or happiness, you can only have one… what would you rather have and why?

Why so harsh and they all work together to bring what we all seek, eh. Happiness of course, and it took me 50 plus years to realize what brought me happiness and it didn’t include money or fame. Climate. *silly grin*

Do you believe in an afterlife?

I think I’ve covered this, but I don’t know…so I really can’t say I believe in it. I hope I’m mildly surprised and not with hellfire and damnation for not believing, cause that would really suck, but it would explain my reasons for not believing in a cruel god.

Would you rather lead or follow? Why? What role do you see yourself playing out over your life, leader or follower?

My personality test has concluded I’m a Navigator and an Explorer. My primary being that of Explorer. So I neither lead or follow in my opinion, and I’ve since given up the quest of worrying about it either. I don’t expect followers or disciples and I follow when I agree the leader has something of value or interest to tell or show.

Does heartache make you stronger?

No, but it does remind you of what paths not to take, what people not to trust and sometimes it gives others the impression you are bitter. I liken it to ‘heartburn’~ because, I avoid foods that cause it, just like I try to avoid types of people who like their predecessors may have hurt me before.

Do you believe in the possibility of a true friendship between a man and a woman?

I think it is very possible and I have a few friends who are men. I trust them with my woes and worries before most women. But there is always that sexual tug even if you don’t realize it, but I strongly believe that friendship is the bigger factor and how much you want or enjoy the friendship keeps men and women from acting on that tug.

What would a description of your *exact opposite* be like?

My exact opposite is one who judges others irrationally or misunderstands others or who thinks they are superior in every way to others they meet, based on their personal creed, ethnicity, sexuality, and ideals; basically a bigot. They forget they are frail, limited little beings just like the rest of us…and sometimes, just because they believe in the cruel god I mentioned. There I said it…

Leave a Reply

